Big Meadow Family Campground

8215 Cedar Creek Road
Townsend, TN 37882

(888) 497-0625

(865) 448-0625

  •      
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Happy time
0 % of users found this review helpful
We have had a great weekend thus far at Big Meadow Family Campground! It's easy to get to from west Knoxville. The convenient location is away from the traffic that Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge incur, yet still close to the popular attractions in those areas. Our kids loved the playground and splash pad. My husband and son have had a blast fishing in the river that runs right behind our site. The staff has been very helpful and welcoming. We will definitely return!
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

Sfpetty
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/13/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Townsend peacefull
0 % of users found this review helpful
Great family campground. Quiet, clean, and very helpful staff. We come back often and love this campground. Very well maintained and beautiful. We don't have children with us but they have a nice playground and water play area. We do bring the dogs and it is very pet friendly. I absolutely love this place. We like to stay on the river it is such a nice view. The sites are level and easy to set up in. I can't say enough nice things about this campground. Located in Townsend a peaceful town on the quiet side of the Smokies. The perfect place to camp.
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

Lakoda Sun
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/25/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Fantastic Campground!!
0 % of users found this review helpful
The people are very friendly, in fact, my husband went in the office & said "We're home!!" We feel secure here and things are nice & clean. Most campers are so nice and you develop nice friendships. Big Meadow promotes so many nice outings there in Townsend. This is a big extended family!
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

bluboogiebear
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/19/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
best place to camp
0 % of users found this review helpful
beat place to camp in Townsend .we love it
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

bill and debra
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 02/22/2015
C-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Fall trip
0 % of users found this review helpful
Camp ground is well maintained. All rules are not covered until you arrive. Gates are locked from 12 am until 7 am. Water is cut off if temperature drops below 32 degrees and is not turned back on until it rises back above 32 degrees you expected to fill your holding tank with water. If friends visit they have to pay to come on site. To many silly rules. All about extra money.
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

Vickey
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/08/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Sisters n Brothers Weekend
0 % of users found this review helpful
My two sisters and I and our husbands spent 5 nights at Big Meadow and thoroughly enjoyed the entire time. We were able to relax by the fire and fish in the Little River with just a very short walk, run into Pigeon Forge for a girls' shopping trip, drive to Rocky Branch for a thoroughly entertaining bluegrass jam, and just loved the entire camping trip!
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

KayBee
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/08/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great campground!
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our first time at Big Meadow Family Campground but not our first visit to the Townsend Tn, area. The campground was very well maintained and the owners and staff were helpful and friendly. The power, water, cable, wi-fi and sewer were excellent and the concrete pad and patio was great! The enclosed dog park was a big plus for our two dogs. The walk along the Little River is scenic and relaxing. I tried tubing on the river for the first time at the place next to the campground and I enjoyed it so much I will do it all day next time we are there! Townsend is known as the "Peaceful side of the Smokies" for good reasons. We've been going to this area for eight years now because you are close to all of the tourist attractions yet far enough away to enjoy the peace and serenity of the mountains. Be sure to visit the Great Smoky Mountain Heritage Center, Little River Railroad and Lumber Co. museum and Cades Cove here in Townsend. There is also several great restaurants in the area like the Black Bear and Little River BBQ.
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

mountain camper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/18/2014
C-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
LockDown
0 % of users found this review helpful
When making reservations at Big Meadow or on their website, it does not state that you are locked in the campground from 12:00 a.m. to 6:30 a.m. As avid hikers and wildlife viewers we wanted to be in Cades Cove early in the morning and were unable to do so because of the parks regulations. We also have a 10 hour drive home and could not leave at our planned time because of their "lock down". River sites are very small. If you want to have a fire, you have to put a deposit on a fire ring and then worry about catching your equipment or your neighbors equipment on fire...that is how close the sites are. We will NOT be staying at this campground again.
(...more...)
Campgrounds.com

ToddJanice
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/20/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Very nice park - would come back again
0 % of users found this review helpful
Visited this park while attending a conference and thoroughly enjoyed it. The park was very nice and clean and the people were so friendly and accommodating. Would definitely come back here again if in the area.
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

Heritage Hills RV Park
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 12/26/2013
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Unique surprise
0 % of users found this review helpful
This is my husband and my first time at this campground. We had camp at a different campground before. I sure wished we had visited this park the first time. The drive coming in is beautiful. The way they had the welcome center decorated was keeping with the season. You could tell that they love their campground. The owners and staff were friendly and helped us get to our site. The site was big enough to fit our 43 foot motor coach and we had room to spare. You were comfortable and you didn't feel you were on top of one another. We actually was able to stay at that site and wasn't made to move. What a pleasant surprise. Unlike the one park we were at. The facilities were spotless. Dog walking area great. It was big enough for our German Shepherd. The park was so clean. The location is great. You are close to Caves Cove, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and other cities nearby. The owners were so friendly that they made you feel very comfortable and you felt part of the campground. My husband and I plan on returning. We were pleasantly surprise. This campground is keeping with the theme, the quiet side of the mountain. There is something for everybody.
(...more...)
courtesy of campgrounds.com

Happy Camper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/11/2013

12345