Campfire Lodgings

116 Appalachian Village Road
Asheville, NC 28804

(800) 933-8012

(828) 658-8012

  •      
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
CAMPGROUND
0 % of users found this review helpful
THIS WAS A GREAT CAMPGROUND, ONLY PROBLEM WAS GETTING OUR RV UP THE STEEP MOUNTAIN. THE MANAGER AND CARETAKER WERE SO NICE AND FRIENDLY. THE VIEWS FROM THE SITES WERE BREATHTAKING. IT WAS CLOSE TO EVERYTHING AND WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND. BE SURE AND CALL WAY AHEAD OF TIME TO RESERVE THE BEST SIGHTS.
(...more...)
Campgrounds.com

PAM
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/16/2013
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great Meeting Spot
0 % of users found this review helpful
A great destination campground for the Ashville area. Our group were all treated wonderfully by the camp host, views, close to recreation. A great find.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

Oran
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/01/2012
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Absolutely perfect!
0 % of users found this review helpful
I can hardly wait to get back to Campfire Lodgings! It was exactly what I was looking for, and provided a backdrop for a weekend crammed full of wonderful memories. In late October, the fall color was absolutely picturesque, even if the nights were a little chilly. Traffic delayed our arrival until late at night, and Andi was very accommodating. We found our site in the dark with little trouble. There was a slight slope to it, but not enough to pose a problem. The grill grate included on the fire ring was a wonderful surprise, allowing for easy cooking. There was just enough room on our site for an 8-man tent, the picnic table included, and hang-out space around the fire ring for our group of 6. There was dormant poison ivy climbing up the trees right at the edge of our campsite, but I knew what to look for. Ask Andi about the hike on Rattlesnake Ridge-- a perfect, gorgeous, easy hike for a relaxing weekend in the woods. The fall color was just jaw-dropping. The pre-printed directions she had for it were a little confusing-- like noting "you'll see Something Road on the right" instead of "turn right on Something Road" but just gave us more time driving around the charming area. One of the best things was the bath house. Instead of the dark, grimy stalls I remembered from childhood camping, it housed a handful of tiny little bathrooms-- each with a shower, curtained off from a brightly-lit sink/mirror area (with electrical outlets for any bathroom gadgets), and a separate tiny bathroom. Getting to sleep on a mountain and still have a real bathroom to clean up in-- wonderful! I will be returning to Campfire Lodgings many, many times!
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

Mountain Girl
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/15/2011
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
sweet spot
0 % of users found this review helpful
great spot for tent camping with some amenities. nice views, chill place, water and electric if you need it. good bathhouse. wifi. very pleased.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

smooth alchemy
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/15/2011
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
LOVE this spot
0 % of users found this review helpful
We spent two nights in a deluxe yurt and it was definitely not enough time. The inside of the yurt was really nice and had everything we needed and even things that we didn't but enjoyed anyway, like AC! The view of the river from this campground is amazing and the yurt locations are very private. It was quiet and the management was so warm and welcoming. We are already planning our return.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

sccamper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/15/2011
C
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Treated very disrespectfully
100 % of users found this review helpful
Upon entering the cabin we noticed an odor of musty/gas, but it was so cute we didn't mind. There were also ants, but again, we're camping so we blew that off too. The floor of the upstairs shower was so dirty my daughter refused to shower in it. (again, didn't complain, didn't want anything to ruin our time together) The grounds are very nice and the cabin was adorable. Our problem came after we checked out and I received an EXTREMELY RUDE phone call from Campfire Lodgings telling me we left the place "a mess". Confused and down-right insulted, I asked for more detail. I was told there was broken glass and dog "manure" on the kitchen floor. In an attempt to, yes, defend myself as well as my character at this point, I asked more questions. I was hung up on. I called back because it just really bothered me that I was essentially being called a liar. Upon further questioning (while I was being yelled at) I come to find out 2 glasses broke in the dishwasher, which as instructed we left running upon departure. I was then told that the "dog manure" was a spot that "looked like it was cleaned up with a napkin". I offered to pay for the glasses I was unware that broke, but still vehementaly deny our dog EVER went to the bathroom in that cabin. I explained that I was very upset about this accusation and after being yelled at more, was hung up on again. They also complained of dog hair. Ok, I will give them that. I even got the vacuum out myself and thought about vacuuming it, then thought to myself this is 90% hardwood flooring with 2 area rugs and I paid $365 for two nights ($30 to have the dog). So I didn't vacuum. Bottom line is it is appalling that someone in a service industry can treat hard-working, paying customers this badly. I have honestly never written a review before, but felt so strongly that this had such a negative impact on an otherwise very enjoyable and much-needed family get-away that I appreciate the opportunity to tell my story.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

camper1
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/15/2011
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
blue ridge yurt
100 % of users found this review helpful
we arrived at night. walked into a beautifully designed yurt complete w a spa style restroom, a boutique kitchenette, full dinner table queen size tempurpedic platform bed. a fireplace, yes fireplace. thats just the inside!! there is a full deck w pic nic table and full size gas grill. overlooking the forest. in the morning we walked to the top and what a sight, over looking the blue ridge mtns, riverand the sun shing bright. what was set to be a romantic getaway turned into a romanti adventure. must go! its close to the wonders of Ashville and yet far enough away to be away.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

getrieben
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/14/2011
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Beautiful View
0 % of users found this review helpful
The first time we visited this Camprgound it was by luck. We were Gem mining in North Carolina and need a place to spend the night. We found this campground in our camping book and thought we would give it a try. The drive up to the campground on their private road felt like we were driving up a goat path, long, narrow and windy, it was slow going. We thought we would never get to the top, but when we did, the view was breathtaking. You can see for miles. There are only a few sites that can accommodate large campers or RV's. The interenet connection was very strong. There really isn't much for a faily to do there, no swimming pool, no playground and no activities to get campers involved with outdoor things, it really is a place to sit, read and look at the view. I thought the price was high considering the lack of amenities. The first time we arrived the caretakers were very friendly. It was early evening and the frond desk was closed, they helped up hook up and even offered to lend us a tv cable. They even took us around to show us the nert he was building. That was exciting. I never saw one of those and it was very interesting.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

cin7
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/14/2011
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Tent camping
0 % of users found this review helpful
The campgrounds offered Breath taking views,Tent spots where clean & maintained. Facilities were clean. Hiking trails were close by on property. We will be back.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

trish
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/06/2011
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Amazing Mountain Vistas
0 % of users found this review helpful
The mountain views at this campground were amazing. All the sites were along a ridge so no one had an obstructed view. Bathroom facilities were clean and split into individual units, each with a toilet and shower stall. Nice hiking areas. We really enjoyed our 4-day stay here and will return.
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

EP
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/04/2011

123